Skip to Content

Educational and Training Institutions

The front of an educational institution with students walking

There are sections of the standard that apply specifically to educational and training institutions, such as:

  • Public and private elementary and secondary schools
  • Colleges and universities
  • Other educational and training organizations defined in the regulation

For more specific details on what organizations must comply, select the heading below:

Which educational and training institutions must comply

  • Organizations that are governed by the Education Act or the Private Career Colleges Act, 2005.
  • Organizations that offer all or part of a post-secondary program leading to a degree pursuant to a consent granted under the Post-secondary Education Choice and Excellence Act, 2000.
  • Designated public sector organizations (colleges and universities) described in paragraph 3 or 4 of Schedule 1 of the IASR.
  • Public or private organizations that provide courses or programs or both that result in the acquisition by students of a diploma or certificate named by the Minister of Education under paragraph 1 of subsection 8 (1) of the Education Act.
  • A private school within the meaning of the Education Act.

The following sections of the standard apply specifically to educational and training institutions:

  • Educational and training resources and materials
  • Training to educators
  • Libraries of educational and training institutions

These requirements are outlined on the next three screens.

Refers to different conformance levels in WCAG 2.0. A series of technical checkpoints that make websites and their content increasingly accessible to a broader range of users with disabilities. To meet conformance Level A all Level A success criteria need to be met; to meet conformance Level AA all Level A and Level AA success criteria must be met.